Site-Specific

The Throw Zone

von Beatrix Joyce und Michela Filzi

07.06.2017 21:00 Uhr | @ Kunstkraftwerk

The Throw Zone untersucht, der Schwerkraft trotzend, den Schwebezustand eines Körpers. Die Performerinnen agieren ohne stabilen Halt. Der sich rasant entwickelnden Technologie, die massenhaft Gelegenheiten und Möglichkeiten produziert, steht der fragile Körper gegenüber und bemüht sich um Anhaltspunkte. Die Flut der Informationen wird zur Herausforderung und vermag das Individuum in einen Zustand von Instabilität, Unsicherheit und Distanzierung zu versetzen. Die Flüchtigkeit des zeitgenössischen Lebens zwingt uns zur kontinuierlichen Adaption und Akzeptanz sich ständig verändernder Bedingungen. The Throw Zone reflektiert den Zeitgeist einer Generation, die sich mit einer Fülle von Möglichkeiten konfrontiert sieht.

Credits, Vitae
Concept and Performance : Beatrix Joyce, Michela Filzi

Beatrix Joyce lebt und arbeitet als Performerin, Autorin, und Filmemacherin in Berlin. Sie schloss den Bachelor in Zeitgenössischem Tanz am Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance in London ab und graduierte im Master Critical and Creative Analysis an der Goldsmiths University. Derzeit arbeitet sie für Berlin Art Link als Rezensentin von zeitgenössischem Tanz und Performance.

Michela Filzi lebt und arbeitet als multimediale Künstlerin in Berlin. Sie hat Erfahrungen in Gymnastik und Zeichnung und schloss den BA Bildende Kunst und Design am audio-visuellen Department der Gerrit Rietveld Academy in Amsterdam ab. Ihre Performances bewegen sich im Spannungsfeld zwischen Sport, Ritual, Belastungsprobe, Zeremonie und Tanz.

Site-Specific

The Throw Zone

by Beatrix Joyce and Michela Filzi

07/06/2017 09:00 pm | @ Kunstkraftwerk

‘The Throw Zone’ is a sculptural performance piece that plays on the notion of a fused body. Two performers, one hanging from a rope, move as a singular entity and together caught in a free fall, create the illusion that gravity is momentarily suspended. Moving with a gradual progression, the performers find stillnesses in unexpected poses. Their conjoined structure is completed by peculiar details – a raised hand or a pointed finger – drawing forth images that are both absurd and casual, real-life propositions. Thrown, headfirst, into the immensity of possibilities, ‘The Throw Zone’ reflects on the expansiveness of our times and unleashes the imagination in a floating tableau vivant.

credits, vitae
Konzept und Performance : Beatrix Joyce, Michela Filzi

Beatrix Joyce is a performance artist, writer and film maker based in Berlin. She holds a BA in Contemporary Dance from Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance, London and an MA in Critical and Creative Analysis from Goldsmiths University. She is currently working for Berlin Art Link as a reviewer of contemporary dance and performance.

Michela Filzi is a multi-media artist based in Berlin. She has a background in gymnastics and drawing and she holds a BA in Fine Arts and Design from the Audio Visual department of the Gerrit Rietveld Academy in Amsterdam. Her performances hold the middle ground between sports, rituals, endurance tests, ceremonies and dancing.