Bühne
Foto © Marta Ankiersztejn

This is a musical

von Karol Tymiński

07.06.2017 20:00 Uhr | @ Kunstkraftwerk

In Karol Tymińskis Arbeit This is a musical wird die Herstellung einer viszeralen, diskordanten und queeren elektronische Fantasie anhand eines Körpers etabliert. Tymińskis Körper fungiert als Instrument für dieses Sound Sampling, die elektronische Musik entwickelt sich aus einer brutalen Choreografie heraus. Das „Musical“ ist ein Archiv aus Sehnsüchten, eine Komposition aus Aktionen, die sich in Raum und Zeit entfalten und sich in schwingenden Klängen zu einer Hypnose weiter tragen. Der Performer oszilliert zwischen Zärtlichkeit und Brutalismus und schafft einen Beat, der ihn in eine Trance, in einen Möglichkeitsraum des Wahnsinns und des Vergnügens versetzt. Dieser Körper ist entzückt, er ist der Wächter einer Schwelle und will das Publikum damit in Richtung einer Ekstase bringen.

Credits, Vitae
CHOREOGRAPHY, PERFORMANCE : Karol Tyminski
VIDEO : Michal Andrysiak
MUSIC : Gradual
LIGHTS : Jan Cybis
VOICE : Malgorzata Neumann
Special thanks to : Jeremy Wade

In Koproduktion mit Instytut Sztuk Performatywnych, Open Latitudes und apap – Performing Europe 2011-16, beides mit Unterstützung des Kulturprogramms der Europäischen Union. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Tanzfabrik Berlin und Center in Motion Choreographers Workspace.

KAROL TYMINSKI ist ein polnischer Choreograf und Performer. Er studierte an der Balletschule in Warschau, bei P.A.R.T.S. in Brüssel und ist Mitbegründer des Centre in Motion. Durch den APAP, ImpulsTanz, Body/Mind Foundation, Open Latitudes, Movement Research und dem polnischen Kulturministerim wurden seine bisherigen Arbeiten This is a musical, Liminal, Pussy, Beep und Doll House honoriert und unterstützt.

Bühne
Foto © Marta Ankiersztejn

This is a musical

by Karol Tymiński

07/06/2017 08:00 pm | @ Kunstkraftwerk

In Karol Tymiński’s latest work This is a musical the production of a visceral discordant and queer electronic fantasy will be built with a laboring body. Tymiński’s body is the instrument for the sample, the electronic music he wields comes into being through a brutal choreography. The “musical” is an archive of the body’s desire, a composition in time and space, where a history of actions continues to sing with deep resonance moving towards further hypnosis. The performer oscillates between tenderness and brutalism creating a beat scape that evolves towards a massive trance, entering a space of possibility of madness and pleasure. This borderline body on stage is in rapture, he is the keeper of a threshold, he wants to guide the audience in the direction of the ecstatic.

credits, vitae
CHOREOGRAFIE, PERFORMANCE : Karol Tyminski
VIDEO : Michal Andrysiak
MUSIK : Gradual
LICHT : Jan Cybis
STIMME : Malgorzata Neumann
Besonderen Dank an : Jeremy Wade

In co-production with Instytut Sztuk Performatywnych, Open Latitudes and apap – Performing Europe 2011-16, both with the support of the Culture Program of the European Union. With the kind support of Tanzfabrik Berlin and Center in Motion Choreographers Workspace.

KAROL TYMINSKI is a Polish choreographer/performer, co-founder of Center in Motion Workspace, graduate of P.A.R.T.S. In his career he created works such as This is a musical, Liminal (perf. by Icelandic Dance Company), Pussy, Beep, Doll House. He had an honor to receive support from (among all) APAP, ImpulsTanz, Body/Mind Foundation, Open Latitudes, Movement Research, The Ministry of Culture of Poland.